Three Cats are All-Pac-10
Wade earns first team honors
Wade earns first team honors

Posted Dec 2, 2002

Three Wildcat football players were named to the All-Conference team as voted on by Pac-10 coaches. The Wildcats also earned a second team spot as well. In an unprecidented move, two quarterbacks shared Offensive Player of the Year honors and first team honors.

Bobby Wade, Lance Briggs and Ray Wells were all named to the first team. Wade was named as a first team receiver and a second team punt returner. It is his second time being named to the squad.

Briggs was named a first team linebacker for the third time in his career. Briggs and Ricky Manning were the only two three-time selections. Briggs played fullback as a freshman and has been honored every season he has started at linebacker.

Wells was named as a special teams performer. He led the Wildcats in special teams tackles despite playing only on punt coverage. It is is the first award for the junior college transfer.

Offensive lineman Makoa Freitas was named to the second team.

In an odd move Jason Gesser and Carson Palmer shared the Offensive Player of the Year award and were both named to the first team as quarterbacks. Cody Pickett and Kyle Boller shared second team quarterback honors.

ASU's Terrell Suggs was a unanimous selection and was easily the conference's Defensive Player of the Year.

The Wildcats also had five players receive honorable mentions. Darrell Brooks, James Hugo, Jason Johnson, Young Thompson and Jarvie Worcester were all honored.

Related Stories
Williams earns first-team honors
 -by  Dec 2, 2002
Palmer and Polamalu named All-Americans
 -by  Dec 2, 2002
Football Practice Notes
 -by  Dec 2, 2002

Get the 2014 Recruiting Yearbook with an annual Total Access Pass
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.